Blind Melon Soup

I’m listening to Blind Melon’s cd Soup. It’s sick.

I first heard Soup from my buddy Twitchie. I really liked Galaxie first, I just thought it was an amazing song, and the horn intro is just plain ridiculous. No horn into on the vid.

The unsung gem of this CD is Vernie, the 3rd song. It’s not on youtube, or any other place, but it’s amazing as well.

Lady T’s favorite song on Soup is Skinned. Skinned is a good song, but not my favorite. The kazoo is ridic as well.

And for the all-time, most savage song on Blind Melon’s Soup, please check out Toes Across the Floor. For me, this song is the most powerful, going from a slow, almost jolting and gangly verse, to a shout/scream chorus, that then switches to become the whole rest of the song. It’s like they start with this one thing as the verse, go to chorus, back to verse, then chorus the rest of the way out, with a nasty little jam as the bridge.

By the end of the song, when you kinda realize that the chorus is actually where he’s bringing the pain, it brings me to the floor, and then they take you away in a nice, easy blanket to go to sleep. This song is a priceless gem of amazing rock artistry, and I will carry it to my grave inside my dome-piece.

Blind Melon Blind Melon was one of the first CDs I ever got. I bought it again when I went to college, and even ended up stealing Dank’s copy as well.

Thanks to everybody who shows me cool new music to listen to.

2 Responses to “Blind Melon Soup”


  1. 1 twitch November 9, 2007 at 12:12 pm

    thanks for the props P, but I believe you deserve more credit for spreading the word on great tunes. Thank You for opening my eyes. You look like Hoon, except fatter. lol.

  2. 2 Anonymous March 7, 2016 at 4:47 am

    anyone know the first verse to the horn intro?


Leave a Reply

