Coup De Gracie, We Are All Going To Die

John Bolton, the ex-ambassador of the US to the UN, says that we have to bomb Iran, and that we have to do it quickly, and that we should remove Ahmadinejad forcibly from his position, and that we should do it now.

Now, let’s not get into the specifics of who is right and who is wrong, because politics is religion after all. You either believe or you don’t, and there’s very little room for the “gray matter” that makes up the two crucial elements to getting along in any relationship – compromises and brainpower.

He also said that the UN is “fundamentally irrelevant,” pointing to an interesting hypocrisy, considering he was very active in the whole shebang. If it’s so irrelevant, why the fuck do you spend all your time there, arguing with people and wheeling and dealing. Do you do it because it’s fun for you, like playing golf? I think my job is irrelevant too…does that mean everybody in the whole world (even the President) thinks their job is irrelevant? I’m sure somebody feels like they are relevant and in with it. Maybe they just aren’t in the blogosphere.

I’ve been sitting here trying to put everything I just wrote down together, and I find it increasingly difficult. Conspiracy theories, broad generalizations and Wikipedia only gets you so far. Let me see if I can try.

I remember camping out in Utah by myself, in the middle of the desert in the national park Canyonlands. It was freezing cold, and I went hiking early in the morning, as the sun rose. I walked across the desert towards the huge structures where the canyons hid, as the sun rose behind them.

I was the first person out on the trail that morning, and everything was quiet and still. The canyon rivers were dried up, and the trail ran along the bottom of the gulches, winding through the canyons. Everything was silence.

I climbed over the stream bank to stand on a little hill, and I saw some handprints across the way, high up on the rocks and under a little embankment. I practically ran over to them, fuck the rattlesnakes. There were about 4 or 5 handprints on the wall, and also some swirls. I put my hand on the white hand outlines, some were smaller than mine, and some were the same size. I later read that they were thousands of years old, and I thought it was crazy.

I walked on the down the line a little further, and went back under a ledge where I saw some charred rocks. I had read that meant there were campfires, so I checked it out. The burnt, black chunks of wood were mixed in with the sand in one part, and I sifted sand for about a minute before I found what I was looking for, a little piece of pottery. It was totally smooth, smoother than any rock, and there were a few white lines painted across them. I sat in the sand and started to cry, but stopped because I thought it was stupid.

I took it with me, of course. I know it was property of the government and all, but I was there, I found it and I took it. It wasn’t a midnight raid or anything, just a piece of pottery. I wondered if they could arrest me if they found it, as I drove down the road and out of the park.

On the way out, I took my pocket knife and chucked it off the trail, into a little grotto like where I found the piece of pottery. I felt like I needed to make a trade.

I also threw a Miller High Life can out the window of my car as I drove away, right onto the side of the road. It’s probably still there, because I threw it into some bushes.

I guess my point is, as usual, that I don’t have a point. The government is controlling the masses, but what is more important, is that there are governments all over the world controlling the masses, and the new millenium is beginning to take shape. The recent events in Burma have appalled the world, but we really can’t do anything about it, because China has a veto button in the UN, and who’s really going to do what, after all? John Bolton says it’s irrelevant too.

If Jim Carrey is making fucking Save the World videos about UnSung Heroes, looking like Jesus tripping balls, then the train has definitely derailed. Ace Ventura, Pet Detective, is pleading into the camera for all of us to WAKE UP, and do something before we die and it’s too late for us, the people who are alive now, today.

How many death marches must occur before they never happen again? The Trail of Tears, the US soldiers in the Phillipines, the Jews in the Holocaust, the destruction of the natives in the Americas by the Europeans. History is just filled with it, over and over, and over and over, destruction after rape after pillage after bomb. Will it ever stop? Of course not.

What can we do about it? Everything. I remember a NYT article I read about some lawyer in the Palestine, some lady who was working so hard to help people, working her ass off 24/7 because it was just what she’s doing. She felt like she could never sleep, because there is just so much she felt she had to do, basically for free. Selflessness.

I feel bad because I’m not one of those people, but then, I never really felt like I was. TR Roosevelt turned himself around when he was a kid, he went from being a sickly little bitch to being a savage, and I never made the transition from being a bitchboy tennis player to being a savage champion of the Right and the Good. Instead, I feel like a banana peel in the rain, just after someone has stepped on it, fallen down and broken his ankle. I am the banana peel.

In contrast to the negativity, I feel an ocean of hope inside my chest, that things can change for the better, and that I can be a part of that. Are my negative projections just that, my negativity taken from inside and thrown out into the world, or am I in tune with something, that I can feel and see. It’s a constant struggle between getting sucked into terrible nothingness and getting my feet in motion to do things I need to do to make it better.

There will be more, but just not today. Until the Stoney crew returns, expect more of the same. If I could write a detective story for you, I would, but I don’t have the time.

6 Responses to “Coup De Gracie, We Are All Going To Die”


  1. 1 twitch October 2, 2007 at 9:34 am

    that is a blog

  2. 2 stoneywageslave October 2, 2007 at 9:36 am

    i guess so

  3. 3 youandwhosearmy October 3, 2007 at 8:28 pm

    well said.

  4. 4 dankknuggets October 4, 2007 at 4:21 am

    Shika-ka

  5. 5 gn October 9, 2007 at 12:03 pm

    Instead, I feel like a banana peel in the rain, just after someone has stepped on it, fallen down and broken his ankle. I am the banana peel.

    SAVAGE.

  6. 6 stoneywageslave October 9, 2007 at 1:16 pm

    thanks


Leave a Reply

