On the meaning of life, and weekends

This, dear readers, is the first example of a weekend post.  I am not ripping off my boss right now to bring you my quality thoughts.  I repeat, I am NOT at work, which makes this a different sort of post. 

Yesterday, I got home from work at about 3, and me and my special lady took our dog Chompy to the dog park, which is right across the beach. We had planned to go to one of our favorite drinking establishments, The Joker or Hinano’s, but the plans fell through.  We came home from the dog park, and I laid down in bed to rest. 

I woke up at 7:30, only to say “Fuck this, I’m sleeping on.”  She was out too.  I didn’t go out, I didn’t get out of bed.  I was peaced out by 3:30 PM. 

Can anyone guess why I didn’t fulfill my goal of going out to have fun with strangers at the bar? It’s because I was tired from WORK. 

Where am I going with this? I don’t know.  I moved to LA to be crazy and “rock out,” but I found out quickly that I needed a job to pay the bills.  The Libertines, below you, that’s them at work, that’s them at the office.  They got paid to play really loud rock shows, get really fucked up on hard drugs and booze, be famous, tour the world, record CD’s, and sing about it.  That’s what they did for WORK. 

Me, I do the gayest bullshit in the world for work.  I work for a fucking tightwad asshole, who is driven by two major factors: ego and greed.  He has a huge ego, which drives him to keep pushing out more products to sell, ergo making himself a richer individual.  I do the bare minimum of work, hate my asshole bosses, and feel like I am sitting in a vortex of fucked-upness, that nothing can fix.  I DO NOT BELIEVE THAT I AM THE ONLY PERSON IN THE WORLD WHO FEELS LIKE THIS. 

Bob Marley said, “Total destruction, only solution,” but John Lennon seemed very anti-destruction in his “Revolution #1.”  I believe in both messages, but they are very hard to make nice with each other. 

So what’s the point?  It’s the weekend, I missed ½ of my “fun” nights because I was so tired from work, I’m not doing what I dreamed I would be doing, but I have accepted all of that and I am trying to move forward. 

I want to use this blog to find a middle ground between Bob’s “destruction” and John’s “bed-in’s.” 

What am I doing this weekend? Nothing. I’m about to smoke a bong, and then probably go do laundry, which will take about 2 hours.  Then time to pick up the special lady from work, and then it’s time to make up for last night.

What are you doing this weekend?

6 Responses to “On the meaning of life, and weekends”


  1. 1 Roughty March 24, 2007 at 7:52 am

    i cant believe you quoted bob and john in the same post you talked about the libertines. i thought i cured you of your musical curse. get rid of the libertines they are useless. period.

  2. 2 stoneywageslave March 24, 2007 at 8:41 am

    please. you cannot deny the raw savagery of the libertines.

    i was thinking about john and bob, and i also came to this conclusion, which could justify bob’s feelings of destructions. bob was a big-time christian (in some form or another), and he believed that what was coming after death was better than life. burn it down, because heaven will be more fun.

    john never really came to grips with his religious beliefs, so he might have thought that life was the best thing ever, which would mean no destruction.

    it comes down to religion again, haganav would be proud.

  3. 3 his royal dankness March 24, 2007 at 6:03 pm

    gross misinterpretation of bob marley.

    “and it SEEMS like total destruction, the only solution”

    Faith, Hope, and Love

  4. 4 suityourself March 25, 2007 at 6:25 pm

    oh danknugs, never willing to realize that all those darkies really wanna do is burn the shit to the ground. (can he be serious? oh yeah, democrats, suityourself never bullshits.) how about, “I need a hamma, a hamma, a hamma, a hamma, to hamma dem down.” there ain’t no getting around that one… (how can i categorize this comment as racist?)

    stoney, i think this is a good post. we have all, whether it’s today or years ago, realized that what we’re doing is not what we’d hoped we’d be doing. that’s why they call it work. if it were fun, they’d just call it fun. one point of view would lead you to quit it all and just go from job to job until you found a situation where you could get paid for doing something you’d be doing for free anyway. (that’s like my old rich boss.) the other point of view (mine) says that you suffer through all the 9-5 (or 4-2 in your case) bullshit in order to fund the cool stuff you do in the down-time — whether it’s going to shows, smoking reefer or buying fishing stuff. that’s kinda machiavellian i guess, but if you tell yourself something like, “ok, this hour of being somebody’s bitch is funding my ganga habit,” it might help you keep it all in perspective. just the same, taking a day off here and there is never a bad call.

  5. 5 suityourself March 25, 2007 at 6:37 pm

    gotta check something

  6. 6 stoneywageslave March 26, 2007 at 7:27 am

    Dank, I can’t hear you. You’re only a commenter, you nancy.


Leave a Reply

