Going to the show

I’m going to the Razorlight show tonight. I’ve been hearing about them for a couple of months now, and they fit into the category of bands I enjoy, though they might fit the bill a little too well, which gives me some hesitation. I won’t get into them, because I don’t really know yet if they suck or not. The first song on their new cd is good…but anyway. 2006 was the Year of the Show for me. I moved to LA in October of 2005, on a binge story that requires its own blog to explain. I went to my first LA show in early February, 2006. It was at the Henry Fonda Theater in downtown Hollywood, on Hollywood and Vine. EVERYBODY IN THE WHOLE FUCKING PLACE WAS SMOKING WEED. It was crazy. It was a great show, and a great introduction to the LA music scene.

The next morning on Saturday, I bought tickets to go see Galactic that night at the HOB on the Sunset Strip. Galactic is a huge stoner band, but nobody was really smoking that night. Outside, though, there was a guy with Weezer glasses, and we asked him if he wanted to smoke. He said no, but then goes, “I got this bag of stuff if you want to try it.” I was like uhhhh ok what is it, so he pulls this ziploc bag that was REAL full of this white powder. I could tell the guy was twacking, and he wouldn’t tell me what it was. He said, “Just dip your finger in it and lick it.” Well I dipped and licked twice, and I was straight tripping for the rest of the night. I still don’t know what it was, but it was a mix between being hyped up, tripping on mushrooms and rolling. It was pretty fun.

I also met my girlfriend T that night at the show, but I was in a general mood of depression and anxiety, so I didn’t really talk to her. Pretty classy I know, it is a somewhat regular object of discussion that I didn’t talk to her at all the night we met.

Anyway, from then on I went to every single show I could think of. I went to the Strokes show at the Troubadour, which only holds 200 people….I sat outside trying to get tickets, and then the Strokes drove up and went in…it was pretty sweet. Oh ya I didn’t get in, but I heard Keanu Reeves was there…wow. I saw Jeff Tweedy at the Fonda on Valentines day, which was kind of gay because I went with my buddy who was a dude, and Tweedy was all pilled out and trying to be romantic. I ended up leaving early without telling my friend, pretty classy again.

I went to the YeahYeahYeahs show at the Troubadour, the big Strokes show at the Universal Ampitheatre, and The Willowz at Cinespace. The Willowz was a fucking awesome show, it was pretty small. Cinespace is a “kewl” celebrity hangout somewhat, and there was a DJ spinning in the front room. Fuck a DJ, I want my ears to bleed, and the Willowz succeeded perfectly. The Strokes at the Ampitheatre was pretty awesome too, it was me and my girlfriend’s first date. I wrote some other stuff…but to put it lightly, we got real messed up… She passed out in her seat during the first song of the set, and I was like “Fuck it, I’m at the Strokes show, I’m not fucking leaving.” When she woke up, her purse was gone….somebody stole it and spent like 200$ that night with her stolen shit. She woke up crying and screaming, and we almost got arrested because she “might” not have been old enough to drink that night, let alone whatever the fuck else we were doing. We didn’t really hang out for a few months after that debauchery, but look at us now, we got a dog and everything.

Parliament in May at Sunset HOB. It was dddddiiiiirtttyyyyy, but mostly white people which was funny I thought (I’m real fucking white, YA’LL).

Anyway, back to the shows. I went to Coachella in May, which was my first TOOL gig. I dressed up in a Dickies full-body jumpsuit, and attached 200+ bright green glowsticks. If you went to Coachella and saw 3 fuckers walking around glowing, that was me. We smashed our way to the front row (60k were at coachella, i estimate 25-30k were at TOOL), and saw one of the sickest rock shows I have ever ever ever seen. The show ended at 12 AM, and we got back to LA at 4 AM, just in time for me to be at work at 5 AM. I WAS FUCKED that day at work. FUCKED.

Glowing In The Wind

I’m wrecking the mask, bitches.

The next major show events occurred in June, when Radiohead came to town. To put it simply, I have a Radiohead tattoo on my arm. Radiohead is sick, and if you don’t know that, then don’t read my blog.

The late summer was slow for shows. I saw the Willowz again in Echo Park (see earlier refereces), and they were so fucking sick. Their new shit sucked, but their first cd kicked so much ass it was nuts. There was NOBODY there, and I was sitting Indian style on the floor, right in front of the Willowz as they fucking wailed. Why isn’t this band famous? They rule. I think it’s because the lead singer comes across as whiney, and I could see them fighting with each other on stage. So maybe I just answered my own question. I was also extremely twisted at the Willz.

September was a pretty big show month too. Deerhoof at the Troubadour, TOOL at Staples Center, and YeahYeahs at the Palladium. All very so-so, considering we went to 3 shows pretty much back to back and they sucked, except for TOOL. TOOL was kind of tired though, and I could tell they felt like they were at work.

OH SHIT. Strokes at the Hollywood Bowl….UNREAL….The Strokes are the shit, they opened for Tom Petty. I left before Tom Petty because, quite frankly, I could give a shit about him. Tom Petty is a Bob Dylan v2.1, and that just doesn’t really do it for me. Sorry.

Hollywood Bowl is an amazing venue. I forgot to mention I saw The Shins and gay ass Belle & Sebastian at the Bowl. The Shins were awesome, they opened, but B&S was pretty weak. Hollywood Bowl is probably the best music venue I have ever been to. You can bring in food and booze, too, which is NUTS.

Even after all this, I think I probably missed a few. I tried to go the LIARS, but I was indisposed (lying on the floor of my bathroom naked, throwing up and sweating from the 100 degree weather with no AC….I used to head to the bar around 9 AM back in the old days).

I saved the best for last. My birthday show, on July 21, was the show of the year. The Raconteurs played at the Wiltern. There were 3 opening bands, and each one of them fucking sucked. As a precursor, I got fucking ripped on my birthday. It was on a Friday, and I celebrated at the bar before going to the show. I was messed up real bad, throwing up, and finally passed out around 6 PM, when the show started at 8. I made it to the show, though, and it was worth it. The Raconteurs were the sickest shit, Jack White is the best guitarist/writer around right now playing ROCK N’ ROLL. It’s rock, people, not alt rock, garage shit, indie whatever the fuck. Jack White plays deep, nasty blues riffs that will fuck you up, and if you don’t know that, see my previous Radiohead comment.

Anyway, this post is tired and I’m done. I spent thousands of dollars on shows last year, and I’ll probably spend a lot less than that this year because I’m fucking goddamn broke as shit, and I like to party in style or not at all. I predict that Razorlight will be a fun show tonight, and that there will be lots of indie kids there being stupid and cool. I predict that I will have fun too, at my favorite drinking establishment The Drawing Room, before the show.

Does anybody like these bands? I remember when TheYeahs and TheStrokes first came out, and it’s funny now to think of them selling out huge venues and playing Coachella and shit……

For a final thought, the one band I don’t think I’ll ever get to see is The Babyshambles. I love Pete Doherty. I loved the Libertines, and I love The Babyshambles. If you don’t like The Libertines or Babyshambles, and you say that you like rocknroll, or any type of music for that matter, then I’m pretty sure that you need to reevaluate your definition of music.

3 Responses to “Going to the show”


  1. 1 dumbass March 10, 2007 at 9:48 am

    Hey man, just fuckn’ sittn’ here chilln’ all stoney going to all these concerts in my head with you and your glowsticks you fuckn’ monkey, hope all is well.

  2. 2 stoneywageslave March 10, 2007 at 11:15 am

    jackass it is favorable to not use your full name on a blog about flagrant shit. i am going to edit your shit.

  3. 3 JDay February 1, 2008 at 11:06 am

    Hey, if you are into contests there is a great contest on YouTube for Valentines Day. The contest is to create a video for the holiday. Actually its two contests, one is to make a video talking about your great love and the second is to actually do an online video proposal called “Will You Marry Me?” Here’s the URL http://www.youtube.com/greatestlovestories?cm_cid=twb8. Right now there are very few entries so you might have a good shot at winning.


Leave a Reply

